The Shawshank Redemption … Get busy living, or get busy dying. [REVIEW]

The Shawshank Redemption. Rated #1 on IMDB with a 9.3 rating. A 90% rating from critics on rotten tomatoes, accompanied by at 98% rating by the audience. And what one of my best mates describes as:

“The best film I have ever seen.”

Possibly the only film ever made that my Dad has seen but I haven’t.

Until tonight.

The-Shawshank-Redemption1

Having just spent the last 2 hours and 22 minutes watching The Shawshank Redemption, I am finding it hard to believe that it has taken me this long to see it. A self proclaimed film fanatic, and I hadn’t seen the number 1 film on IMDB! I know, what have I been doing?!

What can I say about Shawshank? What a film! This is an absolute masterpiece, and I can now see why it is held in such high esteem. I cannot think of a single thing that this film does wrong. I am struggling to put into words  just how fantastic this film is!

Shawshank Redemption tells the story of Andy Dufresne, a banker wrongly convicted of murdering his wife and her lover. Sent to Shawshank prison Andy faces a double life sentence and a whole new life.

There are parts that are difficult to watch, as the film doesn’t shy away from the reality of a life in prison in the 1940’s. Brutally tortured by the “Sisters” where nothing can be done but take it, or beaten by the guards all the while knowing that he is an innocent man. There is so much in this story that it would be impossible to talk about everything that happens in the film. So here are my highlights.

  • Morgan Freeman is sensational as Red – “I hear you’re the guy who can get things”.  This character is instantly likeable, and his friendship with Andy is the heart of this film. Being the narrator of the film you really get to know the character, and is perfect to root for. The-Shawshank-Redemption-featured-image
  • Brooks. A man inside for 50 years, the only life he knows. I struggled at first with the thought of a man who didn’t want to leave prison. Institutionalised, as Red puts it. But I started to understand it. I really loved this character, and the way it all plays out is literally heartbreaking. The letter written back to the prison will pull your heartstrings to the limit.500full
  • The determination. A man wrongly imprisoned. The shit that is thrown his way, and he just takes it. There is no denying Andy Dufresne is one of the most determined characters that has ever been created. A letter a week for six years, followed by 2 letter a week for a following 5 to get his library project completed. Quietly playing the game and following orders, all the while determined to seek Redemption. Tim Robbins is sensational in this film, and his performance as Andy is nyon perfect.Screen-Shot-2013-04-03-at-8.44.23-PM
  • This film is so satisfying. It punishes you as it goes along, but is ultimately rewarding. The ending of this film is one of the most satisfying that you will see. I am still smiling thinking about it.

Now I could go on and on and on about everything I loved about Shawshank, but that would take far too long to write, and to read. So I will leave it at that. If you haven’t seen this film, you should. If you haven’t watched it in a while, watch it again. And if you don’t like it, why not? I really would like to know how so, because I don’t think it would be possible not to enjoy it!

So, compared to yesterday when I watched one of the worst films I have ever seen, today I have watched one of the best films I have ever seen. That is quite the turn around, and one I am glad of!

Shawshank made me feel angry. It made me feel sad. It made me feel happy. This film blew me away and I just can’t believe it took me so long to see it!

All I can say is. Get busy living, or get busy dying.

9.9/10

2 thoughts on “The Shawshank Redemption … Get busy living, or get busy dying. [REVIEW]

Leave a Reply

