Gravity hits the screens tomorrow … but am I bothered?

So Alfonso Cuarón’s, Gravity, starring George Clooney and Sandra Bullock finally hits the cinema screen for the mass public tomorrow, well in the UK at least, I know it has been out for a little while in the States already. And I have found myself thinking … do I really care?

Gravity-poster

To be perfectly honest, the answer is no. Gravity has to be one of the films I have least looked forward to this year. But this isn’t me trying to be ‘too cool for school’ by standing out for the sake of – I really just can’t see the attraction of the film! Maybe I’m missing something here, but it looks incredibly boring to me!!  That’s not to say anyone who wants to see it is boring, I just am so unexcited by all the hype I won’t be spending my £6.50 on this one, unless I am at a total lose end!

So, as I believe there will be a lot, if not the majority who will disagree with me – let me (try to) justify my reasons.

My first issue is – what actually is this about? The trailer has shown be bugger all, which is usually a good thing as you don’t want the plot spoiled, but Gravity has given me nothing to grab hold of and made me desperate to see it.

Secondly, I am not a huge fan of the stars. I don’t dislike them … I more just, nothing them. That sounds pretty harsh, but there isn’t a film I have seen of either of theirs that I have thought, WOW! that was amazing! But, I haven’t seen many of their movies, so am not really qualified to comment. I’m sure they are both probably very good.

My main problem I think is that this doesn’t seem to be marketed as story, more of a visual experience. And forgive me, but that isn’t my scene. I do enjoy a good looking film, but my primary expectations when I go to see a film are: does this have a good story and will this make me laugh, cry, squirm … make me feel anything. Now contradicting myself, I will be one of the first to come out of a movie and complain if it looks like crap, but at least give me a story!!!!

Gravity may have a fantastic story, and I may be jumping to conclusions – but then, is that a sign of bad marketing? My opinion from the trailer is that I have no interest in watching the film, as the story hasn’t pulled me in. All I have seen is Sandra Bullock cut off from the space shuttle and gasping for air. Now I may be being closed minded and again jumping to conclusions, but I can’t see that being strung out for an hour and half and be interesting.

This one just feels like another Avatar. Which was also marketed as a visual phenomenon, which I had no interest in seeing in 2009, and I have no interest in this in 2013.

Sorry Alfonso, you haven’t inspired this guy.

But hey, tell me if I’m wrong! If you can convince me this is a must see I will happily stand corrected!

 

 

8 thoughts on “Gravity hits the screens tomorrow … but am I bothered?

    • I don’t disagree, I’m sure it will look fantastic – but unfortunately that alone hasn’t done enough to make me care about the film. Although, as I said, I may be wrong, so am awaiting to be stood corrected! If you do see it let me know, you know I value your movie opinions Bradley! 🙂

  1. I will do if I get the chance to see it. Can’t blame you for not being attracted by the trailer, it’s not particularly telling but I think the Sci Fi element and stunning visuals atttact me personally.

    • Fair play mate. You might have convinced me to go if I was still up there – that’s a big negative about being down South … I have none of my cinema buddies!!

  2. Okay. Here I go.. Lol.

    I think both actors ‘can’ be fantastic, but they don’t always perform in the right films. I’ll suggest movies that I like with either actor, but it doesn’t make them masterpieces. It just means I wasn’t completely annoyed by them or the movie. Clooney: Solaris, Out Of Sight, Syriana, Confessions Of A Dangerous Mind, Oh, Brother Where Art Thou?, The Perfect Storm, and Three Kings. Bullock: Crash, The Proposal (yes, I admit this movie makes me laugh my ass off), The Prince Of Egypt (voice for animation), The Vanishing, and Murder By Numbers.

    I think the reason why so many people are captured by the 30 second trailer of Gravity is because, for the majority of us, we all hold our breath and feel instant panic. My heart already begins to race when I think of the possibility of floating out into space. Floating out into fucking space!!! If you are LUCKY, you will get blasted by an asteroid and die. But you will likely starve or freeze to death (probably freeze to death first) before you will get the fortune of getting pummeled by space junk, or bursting into flames by the Sun (you’ll be dead by the time you even get close to it — IF you float that way..). Now, it’s not even all of those things that take a mental toll on me, you know, dying and all. What takes a toll on me is being alone. In darkness. Out of control. The terror of knowing that I (Sandra, or any astronaut floating away) will never see my babies, siblings, and my parents ever again. I will never get to hold them. I will never get to say goodbye. And the last thing that is in my mind when I die is how helpless I am, and I am dying alone. My casket will be filled with photos and flowers, and things that remind people of my life.

    I have become incredibly sensitive to emotional scenes within movies since I became a mother, but I think I used to be like you. It took a lot to get me interested in things that people were hyping up. If you don’t see this movie for the story, then see it for the visuals. Because YOU will NEVER be in outerspace or even have the terrifying and unlucky experience of floating away into the stars. But that is, after all, why we watch movies. To experience the things we otherwise never will.

    I have not seen this movie, but I would love to. If you come to the US and babysit my kids so *I* can go watch this movie since you don’t want to, then we have a deal. 🙂

    • Wow! That was a very comprehensive response! And I fully understand your points. I have seen none of the films you listed for the two stars of this one so can neither agree or disagree with that one.

      In terms of the attraction of Gravity, when you put it like that, I can see why people would be interested, but unfortunately it just didn’t have that effect on me. Perhaps I was too focused on the visuals, which while incredibly impressive, didn’t inspire me to see the film. It may have a good story, but I just don’t think this one is for me.

      In terms of not being able to get back to your family, I totally agree with you on that one, and although I don’t have kids, I fully understand the point – and perhaps when I do have kids I will feel it a lot more and if circumstances were different this film might have triggered that in me and raised more of my interest.

      I usually say if I’m not overly fussed for a film I will wait for Netflix – however I think Gravity is one I am destined never to see, as I think if it is going to be seen, it needs to be seen on the big screen, and most probably in 3D – of which I also am not a big fan off (especially as I am a tight Yorkshireman and 3D nearly doubles the ticket price, plus the glasses!).

      I may be wrong – if you do get round to seeing it, let me know how it is – you may convince me that this is one really not to miss and that I am wrong! And if I could help you to get to see it, I would!! 🙂

      Thanks for the comment! This is the kind of detailed discussions I like to have about films and seeing things from a different person’s perspective. I hope you stick around the blog so we can keep discussing more films! 🙂

      • Believe it or not, I am always waiting to see what you are reviewing next ! So, I stick around plenty. And I definitely understand YOUR point of view for not being interested. I won’t get a chance to see it in the theater, but that’s okay. I’ll also be waiting for its TV premier, or maybe I’ll rent it. But I expect to love it just the same.

      • Ah that’s good to hear! There is a new one coming today or maybe tomorrow. That’s a shame – although it seems the kind of film that would go back into the cinema at some point because of how visually spectacular it is, so maybe you’ll get a chance then! 🙂

Leave a Reply

