Boss Baby – Can I fire this movie please?

I’d been going back and forwards on whether to see this or not for a couple of weeks. On the one hand the trailers didn’t look great, but on the other I like to get value from my unlimited card, and although no Pixar, Dreamworks have produced some great films.

Having literally just walked out of the cinema, with that being said, this was not one of Dreamworks hits. I found this to be bitterly disappointing. You might be thinking, “well duh, your in your 20s, what did you expect?”. But, usually kids film she are actually pretty great, especially when you’re older. You can enjoy the silly kid it’s, while appreciating the jokes aimed at the parents. However, Boss Baby seemed to swing and miss for both of these. This film just seemed confused about how it was suppose to cater for both audiences.

The premise itself is a bit of a strange one to get your head around. I know this isn’t a “thinker” film, it’s about a baby who can talk and works for a company posing as a real baby on a secret mission for crying out loud. When I say premise, what I really mean is the ideas it explores (maybe I’m overthinking this, but I do think kids films also explore real life scenarios and  ideas to some extent).

Your initially confused if your supposed to dislike this baby for disrupting this kids life and taking his parents attention, but then you kinda think the (older) kid is being a brat and is out of line. But then you’re rooting for them both and hoping it works out (of course it does – its a kids film). Maybe I’m not sympathetic to the plight of an older sibling as I was the youngest of two?

I was expecting this to be pretty funny, but unfortunately the childish humour missed the mark (there actually seemed to be very little) despite a few little chuckles. The film felt littered more with jokes for the parents, which just weren’t funny and in no way a child would get – a joke about severance packages was made three times, of which it wasn’t funny, three times. As well as not being funny, it didn’t even really hit me that hard in the feels (despite it trying a little bit), which you can normally count on with a kids film.

Another gripe I had, and I’m sure I probably only picked up on this because I wasn’t enjoying it anyway – but there was some very lazy continuity moments in there from Dreamworks, such as an over spilled glass of milk being a-ok when you see it again 2 seconds later, and a pair of eye brows ripped off a character which reappear instantly. I think I’m being hyper-hyper critical now, especially as this is a kids film. I mean, does that really matter? No, it doesn’t. But the laziness still ticked me off a little. Just because it’s a kids film it doesn’t mean it isn’t important.

All in all I would say give this one a miss. I’ve seen a couple of kids films already this year, and this one is definitely the worst so far.

This has been really negative, and I appreciate I’ve probably activities this way too much for what it is! Anyway, I’m going to leave this there now as I’m about to go back into the cinema and watch the new Guardians of the Galaxy movie, which I am SUPER excited for!

Boss Baby – a measly 3/10

(PS this blog was actually written using my phone – the first time I’ve ever actually done that!)

Leave a Reply

